Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 3rd, 2017

I’ve made some postcards for a swap that calls for citrus colors: orange, yellow and lime green. I didn’t especially want to draw or paint fruit, so I tried other ideas using those colors. An old watercolor made a great background, and I was happy to use it because it hasn’t been hung for years.

On my card, the postage stamps are vivid lime green and neon yellow, but the scanner doesn’t see them the way I do.

Coloring the postage stamps with green and yellow highlighters was satisfying. You can see the designs very clearly through the color. I expect I’ll use my  postage stash more often now.

I played around with color adjustment tools in PaintShop Pro and created some interesting accidental effects, but the two “beige” stamps never did turn yellow. A mystery.

Read Full Post »

I made this index-card-sized background with oil pastels and an ink marker. I set it aside until I should come across something fun to add to it.

And what should appear during my afternoon “nap” but these little earrings from the pages of Outrageous High Fashion magazine. I liked ’em, so I drew ’em and pasted ’em.

Read Full Post »